New member & FMO3 discoverer

new to tmau.org.uk ?, say a big hello here.

Moderators: bigvern, admin

New member & FMO3 discoverer

Postby FADworker » Sat Jul 02, 2011 10:23 am

Hi

First, congratulations on setting up an impressive self-help site that I have been following for some time. It certainly provides a fantastic forum for TMAU patients and their friends and family to discuss TMAU-related issues. I'm Colin Dolphin and was part of the team who first demonstrated that mutations in the FMO3 gene are the cause of the inherited (primary form) of TMAU. I haven't registered here (or indeed on any of the other TMAU forums) before now because, as a non-clinical scientist, I felt it would be inappropriate for me to answer medical type questions. However, if you woulld like to know more about the basic science surrounding the FMO3 gene, the enzyme (also simply called FMO3) that it codes for and their relationship to TMAU I would be happy to try and help.
FADworker

Re: New member & FMO3 discoverer

Postby flower » Sat Jul 02, 2011 2:24 pm

I have a question :

If we are genetic tested for tmau (FMO3-gen), are we also tested for nonsense mutations ?
I read that there is known to be a nonsense mutation possible at amino acid 148. Just read it today on another site.

Thanks for giving us some explenation about the FMO 3-gen.

Flower
flower

Postby FADworker » Sat Jul 02, 2011 6:28 pm

flower wrote:I have a question :

If we are genetic tested for tmau (FMO3-gen), are we also tested for nonsense mutations ?
I read that there is known to be a nonsense mutation possible at amino acid 148. Just read it today on another site.

Thanks for giving us some explenation about the FMO 3-gen.

Flower

Hi flower