New User-long time sufferer

new to tmau.org.uk ?, say a big hello here.

Moderators: admin, bigvern

New User-long time sufferer

Postby IrishS » Sun Aug 31, 2014 12:08 pm

Hi Guys,
I've just been reading through lots of posts on here and it's comforting to know so many others are in the same boat.

I was diagnosed with Tmau around 5 years ago and although it horrified me to have a malodorous disorder, at least I knew I wasn't going bonkers after years of people rubbing noses, making sly comments in my company. I've been really struggling with the low choline diet and although I follow it religiously, I find that my symptoms of late are really bad which causes me to worry and be stressed, which in turn makes my symptoms worse.

I cannot smell myself but I do know from reactions of others that i do omit what must be an awful smell as people take a step back and sometimes cover their own noses when I speak. I am a teacher and certain children in my class actually cover their noses when I speak to them or approach them sometimes. This is slowly changing me as a person and making my job increasingly more challenging and stressful as I have 34 kids in the room with myself. Other teachers would often walk in and literally be taken aback by the smell in the room. In the staffroom the seats next to me are always free and even the thought of going on my break is a daily worry and fear. In a previous job selling natural products, I came in one day to find a 'Breath RX' sample on my desk which I have to say, crushed me.

I have told nobody of my diagnosis although my friends know. I am seeing Dr Treacy every few months in Dublin and she prescribes flagyl antibiotics for me, which I take every month around the time of my cycle, when I notice a really strong smell from my private parts. She has told me my levels are low and thata low choline diet should be fine, but I feel my symptoms are really bad and as I said, things are not working for me.